Modern Literature

Speaker(s): Loren Wilkinson
Date: 1992
Length: 22h43min
Product ID: RGDL2221S

Purchase Options:

MP3 Download - $79.99
MP3 CD - $99.99
CD - $119.99


Dr. Wilkinson looks at some of this century's most influential writers as they deal with the consequences of trying to live without God.

Lectures Include:

Introduction to Modern Literature
Friedrich Neitzche: Thus Spake Zarathustra
James Joyce: Portrait of the Artist
Rilke, Stevens, and the Task of Modern Poetry
Samuel Beckett: Waiting for Godot
T.S. Elliot: The Wasteland
T.S. Elliot: The Four Quartets
C.S. Lewis & Modernity
C.S. Lewis: That Hideous Strength
Walker Percy: Lost in the Cosmos
Walker Percy: The Thanatos Syndrome

See All Audio by Loren Wilkinson

Loren E. Wilkinson is retired as Professor of Interdisciplinary Studies & Philosophy at Regent College. Previously he served as Associate Professor in the Department of English at Seattle Pacific College and Fellow at the Calvin Center for Christian Scholarship. He is editor of Earthkeeping in the Nineties: Stewardship of Creation, and co-wrote Caring for Creation in Your Own Backyard with his wife, Mary Ruth.

Related Audio

Details / Buy

A Culture of the Book (CTC I)

Speaker: Iain Provan

Details / Buy

A good man is hard to find: Christ in the eyes of the poets

Speaker: Roger Lundin

Details / Buy

An Evening with William Paul Young: Reflections on "The Shack"

Speaker: Iwan Russell-Jones, William Paul Young

Details / Buy

Books, Children and God

Speaker: Mary Ruth Wilkinson

Details / Buy

Dickens and the Divine

Speaker: Valentine Cunningham

Details / Buy

Literacy, Literature & the Christian Faith (CTC II Winter 2006)

Speaker: Maxine Hancock

Details / Buy

Living Well Forum - Deep Reading

Speaker: Sharon Jebb Smith

Details / Buy

Novels, Pastors and Poets

Speaker: Eugene Peterson

Details / Buy

The Fiction of C.S. Lewis

Speaker: David Downing

Details / Buy

The Gospel in Tolkien's "The Lord of the Rings"

Speaker: Ralph Wood

Details / Buy

The Shack: A Book Discussion

Speaker: Darrell Johnson, John Stackhouse, Jonathan Wilson, … (see details for all)